It happened today. For the first time someone looked me in the eye and said “Are you an author?” I said “yes” embarrassed a little by the question and a lot by my answer. I’m not really an author, I thought in my head. I’m really a floral designer who wrote a book about flowers. Two different things. Real authors have a passion for words. I have a passion for flowers. I just need the words to share the message of flowers with others.

“What kind of book?” He continued as I was checking in at the airport – headed to Phoenix to present a design program. This Sky Cap had noticed my box and correctly guessed it held books. “Flowers” I replied. “Then I won’t ask you for one. I don’t care nothing about no flowers” he said with a laugh. “I told my wife don’t look for no flowers from me. Never bought her none either.”

“Big mistake!” I answered him with a smile. “The Society of American Florists reports that according to gift delivery survey, fresh flowers illicit the greatest response of spontaneous pleasure. I bet your wife can’t remember how many dresses you’ve given her over the years, but I bet she CAN tell you how many times you’ve given her flowers!” His turn to laugh – “Easy… NONE” he said. “Then let’s make you a hero today. I want you to try it. Take the tip I gave you and stop on your way home to buy a small bunch of flowers. Just to see how pleased and surprised she is. “Deal.” he said. “It’s cheaper than another dress!”

Queen Anne's Lace in Summer

Queen Anne's Lace in Summer

